PictureFigure 1. Stay Safe. Retrieved from www.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk
The topic of digital citizenship has become increasingly popular with parents, students, and teachers alike as the question of internet safety has been brought to the forefront of many media and news stories in the past few years. When I think of what digital citizenship means to me the question that first comes to mind is how do I want myself, and my students to act while online. There are nine aspects of digital citizenship (Ribbie, 2013) they include: digital access. commerce, communication, literacy, etiquette, law, rights & responsibilities, health & wellness, and security. As Mike Ribbie states in his article Nine themes of digital citizenship teachers need to teach students to respect themselves and others online, educate themselves and connect with others online, and protect themselves and others online. Given the fact that I hope to use technology in many of my lessons to promote meaningful learning I do not take digital citizenship lightly. I believe it is something that needs to be taught from at an early grade so that it becomes just an ethical way of behaving online that our students don't need to think twice about. Just as table manners need to be taught to children at en early age, we have entered a time where Internet manners also need to be taught.


The division I chose for this journal entry is 2 because that is the division I will be doing my PSIII in. The aspects I would include in my teachings that I find to be appropriate at this level are; access, communication, literacy, etiquette, and security. In this division, more likely than not most of the students will already have been using digital technology for many years. At this age they will need to be reminded of how to act online and hoe to keep themselves face. It is at this age (grade 5-6) that kids are beginning to think about the consequences their actions may have so it is important to discuss these consequences with them! I also think it is important to ensure students of this age understand the impact their digital footprint can have. We as teachers must remind our students that what we put on the web is potentially there forever! At this level I would focus quite a bit on the rules and regulations of digital technologies to ensure my students have a good understanding of how to act online. However, that being said, I would also include a plethora of different technologies in my class and begin to educate my students about different types of technologies  websites, collaborations tools, etc. 

Significant Comments


http://rochelleradkeonlinejournal.weebly.com/7/post/2013/07/topic-9-journal.html#comments

http://joshmoralesjournal.weebly.com/1/post/2013/07/web-awareness-ii-digital-citizenship.html#comments


References


Ribbie, M. (2013). Digital Citizenship: Using technology appropriately. Retrieved from http://digitalcitizenship.net/Home_Page.html

Kristin Raychert
7/19/2013 12:36:07 pm

Hi MacKenzie,

I enjoyed reading your blog post! I agree with you on your point that students need to be taught about digital citizenship at a young age, so that way they can avoid trouble and won't think twice about what they are doing on the internet. How would you go about teaching students the rules you would set out for proper digital citizenship? Would you give them examples and stories or just a list of rules?

Thanks,
Kristin

Reply
Kristin
7/20/2013 02:49:40 am

Hi Kristin,

Great question! I am definitely a person who avoids simply listing points and hoping my students will understand and retain the information. This is not how I learn and I know it is not how many other students learn. Instead why not teach our students the rules of internet safety by telling them stories with characters they can relate to in them. It is also important to share with your students why a particular rule is important and what the consequences could be if it were broken (to avoid the 'because I said so' type mentality). Lastly, it is important to model this type of behaviour if behaviour for our students, as they say we must "practice what we preach".

Thanks again for your question Kristin,

MacKenzie

Reply
Jillian MacDonald
7/22/2013 02:44:08 am

Hi, MacKenzie!

I really enjoyed your post. I also liked the way that you drew parallels between table manners and netiquette; in this day and age, they are very much the same thing. Is there a way you could make the "rules" aspect of digital citizenship more meaningful to them, such as asking them what kind of rules they think apply to a certain situation before listing them off? Also, I'm curious as to what kinds of activities you would have to promote digital literacy for division 2 students.

Thanks!

- Jill

Reply
Jason Salmon
7/22/2013 03:57:23 am

MacKenzie,

I really liked the way you addressed netiquette by comparing Internet manners to table manners. Very well said.

My question for you is serious...Do you use the word "plethora" because of the Three Amigos? Just wondering.

I enjoyed your post.

Reply
MacKenzie MacLeod
7/22/2013 06:19:33 am

Hi Jason,
I appreciate the seriousness of our question - sometimes we are forced to really get right down to the nitty gritty and ask those types of questions. To answer you.... What are the three amigos??

Thanks!
Have a fabulous rest of the summer!
MacKenzie

Reply
MacKenzie MacLeod
7/22/2013 06:22:29 am

Hi Jillian!
Thanks for your question! I would definitely try to teach my students the "rules" in a more meaningful way! Even teaching them by the use of stories (the same style as fables with morals at the end but 21st century style!). Even doing modeling of "good" and "bad" (for lack of better words) behaviors in front of the class!

Thanks Jill,
Have a fabulous rest of the summer!

MacKenzie

Reply
7/27/2019 05:49:31 am

Eumaxindia - We are INS accredited newspaper advertising agency of Chennai helping you to book all kind of Advertisement Online for all leading Newspapers of Chennai.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a 6th year University student currently finishing up my last semester in an Education Program. On this blog I will post reflections about my learning in my Internet & Education course.

    Archives

    July 2013

    Categories

    All