Picture

First off I would like to start by thanking all the collaboration tools out there that I have used that have seriously made my life easier. Being a university student in Lethbridge who worked both there and in Calgary, group projects were often made difficult when I had to manage my time around 3+ others' availability... and then I was introduced to Google Drive and Skype (and now google Hangout). These tools have saved my butt from calling in 'sick' to work so that I could actually meet with my group a couple of times! In this journal I will discuss the following collaboration tools and how I see them fitting into the classroom: Dropbox, Google Drive, Google Hangout, and crowd sourcing. 

Dropbox
If every student in your class has dropbox it would be a very handy tool because of the simple fact that you can ensure each student has all the same information (rubrics, assignments, announcements, etc.) in one spot. The best part is you won't have to keep making photocopies of things you know you already handed out twice because everything can just be on the web! I think using dropbox in this way would be suitable for any grade as long as you showed and modelled for the students exactly how to use it and access files, etc. For the older grades you could also have them submit assignments via dropbox. Even better you could have students share assignments on dropbox for peer review prior to submission! This way you are incorporating some assessment as learning.Jennifer Carey offers some great advice as to how to use dropbox as well as a step-by-step explanation of how to get your students started on it!


Google Drive
Google drive really makes it possible for you to have a paperless classroom! Google drive is great for collaborating with parents and sending home announcements, permission slips, etc as most people already have a google account or something similar. By doing this, teachers are in close contact with parents and can always be assured they are receiving important documents. Similar to dropbox Google Drive can be used between students to share assignments. It is extremely handy because all members of a group ca be working on the assignment, editing it, etc and they do not have to be sitting across from each other at school I would probably be more apt to use a tool such as Google Drive with older students as they may be doing more group work which would require them to meet outside of class time.


Google Hangout 
Google Hangout is a great tool to get your students familiar with, especially in older classrooms (grade 6 up). This is a space that allows students to drop in and out, check in, ask questions, bounce ideas off one another, etc. If students need clarification on an aspect of homework or something they can check the hangout and ask their question to anyone who may be on. Furthermore, teachers can schedule tutorial time on the hangout and help those students who may need extra explanations, etc. The only problem with this is that teachers do need their free time as well - we cannot be available 24hrs a day. As discussed in my Ethics of Teaching 4381 course, teachers must be careful as to the amount of time they are spending interacting with students outside of class time (even though it is purely for teaching purposes). We cannot be available for our students all the time, nor is it appropriate to do so. 

Crowd Sourcing
Crowd sourcing is a teacher's dream! Beg, borrow, steal - this is what I have been taught to do as a new up and coming teacher. Crowd sourcing is especially great because the people are not concerned with money (meaning it is typically free). Some great teacher sites for this are smart exchange, better lesson, and teachers pay teachers (although not every thing is free on this site). 

As for students - If you could set up a private crowd sourcing type site that only the class could access then students could post their notes, projects, etc as a way to work together and share their ideas. This would probably only work well in older grades, however, this could also raise an issue or 'copying/cheating' where students feel like they don't have to take notes for themselves because they know someone else would post them. 




Significant comments - 


http://danuedportfolio.weebly.com/2/post/2013/07/collaboration-cloud-computing.html#comments


http://joansjournal.weebly.com/1/post/2013/07/topic-7-collaboration-cloud-computing.html#comments
Kaye Abella
7/17/2013 01:16:33 am

Hi Mackenzie!

I totally agree with how useful collaboration tools are as a student, especially when it comes to group work. There have definitely been many times for me when busy schedules, distance, or illness have limited me from working with others and its great how technology helps in such situations. I really like the information you linked about maximizing Dropbox as a learning tool and even for assessment. What are some of your ideas for using collaboration tools like Google Drive as assessment for learning in your classroom?

-Kaye

Reply
MacKenzie
7/20/2013 02:43:55 am

Hi Kaye,

Thanks for your question! In regards to using a collaboration tool such as Google Drive for assessment for learning I could see myself using it for exit slips - where I post a question and students must add their answer to the form. Also using it as a place where students could post self-reflection journal type entries which could further guide my teaching. Last, one could use it to post surveys and have their students complete surveys about how the class was going etc. I believe you would have to judge your class to determine exactly what you could use collaboration tools such as Google Drive for but those are a few of my ideas that I would like to try to do in the future!

Thanks for the Question Kaye,

MacKenzie

Reply
Aaron Rosenke
7/18/2013 02:52:21 am

Hey MacKenzie, great post. You made a point within your Hangout section that really has me thinking. You mention that while Hangout is such a great tool to use with students, we need to be careful not to cater to them 24 hours per day. This is something that I have not really thought of until you brought it up. With the Internet being the all powerful connectivity giant that it is, people are in potential contact with one another all the time. Looking at my university career, I have become frustrated when a professor is unable to email me back in a single night. I think that we sometimes take for granted the fact that our educators want to help us and that we have this access to them at all times. I have been trying to think of some ways to be available to my students after regular hours while still maintaining some remnant of personal time. I thought of using Hangout, as you mentioned, but perhaps creating after school office hours. Can you think of any other ways to structure this in a way that works for everyone? Cheers.

Reply
MacKenzie
7/18/2013 09:01:38 am

Hi Aaron,

Great Question! I think this is something really important that we as new teachers need to keep in mind. Because we are new we are going to be so eager to help our students and ensure their success and to some people this may mean helping them at any time our students ask. This is just asking to get burnt out quickly. I think in my classroom what I will do is set up strict after school 'office hours' where my students know i will be available for an hour from 7-8 (for example). Also, I will probably want to have a night completely to myself so I may tell my students that I am not available on Wednesday nights and so they will have to ask me questions during school time (however, I would be flexible with this). Those are my thoughts as of right now. I think by doing this you save yourself from getting burnt out and your students realize teachers do still have lives!

Thanks Aaron,
MacKenzie

Reply
10/26/2014 09:13:15 pm

Nice information thanks for sharing the knowledgeable information.

Reply

good posts

Reply
12/4/2014 11:24:59 pm

good one

Reply

Eumaxindia - We are INS accredited newspaper advertising agency of Chennai helping you to book all kind of Advertisement Online for all leading Newspapers of Chennai.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a 6th year University student currently finishing up my last semester in an Education Program. On this blog I will post reflections about my learning in my Internet & Education course.

    Archives

    July 2013

    Categories

    All