Picture
This module focused on the tools needed and available to enhance our Internet searches as a way to deepen our knowledge and research new topics. Lawless and Kulikowich (1998) state there are three types of internet ‘users’, the knowledge seeker, feature seeker, and apathetic hypertext users. The knowledge seeker is a highly engaged learner who seeks out knowledge on his or her own. It could be assumed these learners are intrinsically motivated to do so. The feature seeker requires fancy features such as sound, video and animation to be drawn to a website. Once on a website they do not necessarily ‘soak-up’ any of the information presented. The apathetic user is not very engaged in the searching/finding of information and typically will skim text missing bits and pieces of important information. As teachers it is our job to discover ways to engage both the feature seeker and apathetic user in searching for content on the Internet.

To be completely honest, I would have classified myself as an apathetic user when I was in high school. In fact, I continue to struggle with this from time to time even in my 6th year of university! When I first hear the term research I probably have an expression very close to the female featured in the picture; overwhelmed and frustrated. It isn’t that I don’t love to gain new knowledge on different subjects because I do; in fact I am always looking to learn new things each and everyday. However, due to the simple fact that the Internet has such an abundance of information I often find it overwhelming. Moreover, I often struggle with the idea of finding ‘reliable’ sources on the Internet (some may call me a skeptic) – a person has to do a lot more searching if they want to ensure they are retrieving information from reliable sources. Being a University student, I knew how to do advanced searches using journal databases such as Eric and ProQuest but I never thought to carry these strategies over to a search engine such as Google or bing.

I was rather surprised at the plethora of search engines available and the uniqueness of each one. InstaGROK is a fascinating educational search engine that provides students with educational information (most of the content is pulled form educational sites) in a visually stimulating way. It gives students a really good opportunity to explore many different themes that are connected. For example, a basic search of ‘democracy’ pulls up other key words such as, politician, constitution, and revolution. If one clicks on the key word ‘politician’ other themes pop up such as Ancient Greece, Europe, and parties. I believe students would find this to be a really neat and engaging websites; however, it also risks the chance of being a distraction to students who may be overwhelmed by the visuals.

As teachers, it is important to model for students how simple advanced search features can make their lives. Students may often feel overwhelmed by the idea of doing an ‘advanced search’; however, if we display for them how easy it actually is this may given them some comfort. When broken down into small distinct steps students will be more apt to remember those strategies in the future. Furthermore, introducing new innovative search engines such as instaGROK may peak student interest.





Fig 1. Retrieved July 5,2013 from studentsperspectives34.blogspot.com

Lawless, K. A., and Kulikowich, J. M., (1998). Domain Knowledge, Interest, and Hypertext Navigation: A study of individual differences, Journal of Educational Multimedia and Hypermedia, 7(1), 51-69.

Significant comment:
http://danuedportfolio.weebly.com/2/post/2013/07/research-and-its-implications-to-education.html#comments

http://missraychert.weebly.com/1/post/2013/07/journal-1-researching.html#comments

Josh Morales
7/6/2013 02:03:07 am

MacKenzie,

Thanks for sharing your personal experiences and honesty in this post. I too know what it feels like to be the person in the picture, and be sitting in front of a computer screen feeling overwhelmed with information. I also agree with your point about being careful about finding reliable information and data. Is there a particular strategy that you use to verify info? And how do you know when a source is legitimate? I think cross-referencing is one way to ensure that information is correct, as well as double or triple checking facts. I think it's also important for students to be able to decipher fact from fiction.

I also liked how you described the InstaGrok search engine. I found it an intriguing way to visualize information in a creative way. You bring up a good point though that students could get easily distracted by this. The 'feature seekers' or 'apathetic hypertext users' could easily get trapped by this cool search engine. However, if it is framed by the teacher in an appropriate way I think it has many benefits. I also liked how you said it can pique student interest and engagement, because I completely agree with you on this point.

Again, thanks for sharing your insights about this topic!

Reply
MacKenzie MacLeod
7/7/2013 11:51:52 am

Hi Josh,

Thanks for your comment. You raised some really good points, especially around the topic of cross-referencing.In response to your question - I typically will judge a source as 'credible' if it is an official government document, peer reviewed journal, or even a news source (e.g., Calgary Herald). As you mentioned I think it is an important skill to teach our students how to decipher fact from fiction. I also think it is important to teach our students that all sources (no matter their 'credibility') are biased and have an agenda to go by which guides and shapes what they post. It is important to teach our students to think critically and how to analyze the biases of each source.

Thanks for your post Josh,
I was happy to see that I am not the only one who has struggled with research in the past :)

MacKenzie

Reply
Kayla Marra
7/6/2013 01:28:30 pm

Hey MacKenzie!

You make some really interesting points in this post! I completely agree with you that the internet can be overwhelming when trying to sift through the abundance of available information. Josh made an interesting comment about cross-referencing facts. My T.A from PS2 spent time during social studies to teach students how to search for information (however she only used Google as a search engine). She took time to teach about key words and she had them look up the 5 W's on current event stories, and in these assignments students had to link 2 different websites that were not Wikipedia to prove they found the facts from multiple sources. I think this was an effective way to begin teaching researching skills to students.

I agree with you that as teachers we should break down researching into memorable steps to help students see how simple and useful it can truly be. Peaking students interests and trying to lessen the overwhelming feelings would be useful strategies. I wish someone would have taught me researching skills in this way when I was in high school!

Great post! :)

- Kayla

Reply
MacKenzie MacLeod
7/7/2013 11:56:36 am

Kayla,
Thanks so much for your comment. You're preaching to the choir about wishing you had been taught researching skills in high school.
Thank you for sharing the strategy you're TA implemented for researching. What a fabulous example of just how easily research skills can be taught in the social studies curriculum. I really like the idea of having the students search 2 different websites to find information. This ensures students are being exposed to different sources and different views.

Thanks for your comment Kayla!

MacKenzie

Reply
Dan Oryschak
7/7/2013 08:40:34 am

Hey MacKenzie!

I was skimming through the other posts and yours was one of the ones that made me want to comment. I respect the honesty of your post and I think your feelings regarding research are mirrored by many young students these days. The age of the Internet has brought with it an information explosion, but that explosion can be overwhelming to many who try to navigate 'the Web'. I mentioned in my post (shameless plug) that there seems to be a difference between my generation (pre-Internet) and you youngsters when it comes to researching using the Internet. Before the Internet research was guided by a set of encyclopedia type books called reference indexes. These had a list of major articles associated with topics, and research usually started by consulting these indexes. So research started with one tool. While Google will provide you with more than one tool (22 million!!!!) to sift through. InstaGrok (which amazed me as well) provides you with that one location to find relevant information. I think by eliminating the 'white noise' of the Internet we can help students develop their researching skills. I think that you have the potential to be a great ambassador to researching. If you can find tools and strategies to help with your researching, then providing those to your students would help more (than someone who's a natural at researching) because of your understanding of the difficulties with researching. Great insights!

Best Regards,
Dan

Reply
MacKenzie
7/7/2013 12:06:22 pm

Hey Dan,

Thanks for the comment, I appreciated hearing the insights of a 'pre-internet' student. Your reference to the 'reference indexes' made me laugh as I looked up in my parents closet and saw a set of them. The plethora of information that can be found on the internet (basically anything you could ever want to know) amazes me. Thank you for suggesting I have the ability to be a great ambassador to researching. I do believe you're right in that if we as teachers can implement and model strategies of researching our struggling students would greatly benefit.

Thanks again for the insights Dan,
MacKenzie

Reply
Meagan Craig
7/7/2013 10:12:04 am

Hey MacKenzie,
I also really enjoyed reading your post. I completely agree that the internet can be extremely overwhelming and difficult to maneuver. There is so much information available to the world if only it can be located. I, like you, have never really thought to use the same search strategies from journal databases when using Google. Had I been shown how to properly conduct internet searches when I was younger, it would have been very beneficial to me. I think it is extremely important that we as educators pass along our knowledge to our students. By properly modeling search strategies, a teacher can encourage students to also do the same. I think because individuals such as ourselves have previously struggled with internet searches it will help when we teach our students about this. We understand the frustration associated with internet searches and can more easily help our students work their way through this. Would you choose to utilize websites such as InstaGrok in your classroom? You had mentioned that it is a great resource but could prove to be problematic due to the possible distracting nature of the site. How would you assist students to focus when utilizing this? I would love to use this website but also feel that it could be distracting and difficult for some students to concentrate and focus on what they need to. It is exciting that there are so many resources for us as teachers to utilize in the classroom that will motivate and engage our students. Great post and awesome insights!
-Meagan-

Reply
MacKenzie
7/7/2013 12:12:34 pm

Hiya Meagan,

Thanks for the comment! I love to hear that I am not the only one who has struggled with researching. I totally agree that because of our past experiences/struggles, we may be able to better relate with our students and therefore develop appropriate strategies to help them.

I believe I would use InstaGROK in the classroom because I think it is a tool that would excite that students. As for those students who may get distracted I would probably model for them how to use it (so they didn't feel overwhelmed and end up clicking every different bubble just because). I would also probably pair it with another search site and let the student choose which one worked the best for them.

Thank for the insights and questions Meagan!

MacKenzie

Reply
1/11/2018 12:00:40 am


I really like your take on the issue. I now have a clear idea on what this matter is all about..

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a 6th year University student currently finishing up my last semester in an Education Program. On this blog I will post reflections about my learning in my Internet & Education course.

    Archives

    July 2013

    Categories

    All