Jennifer Deyenburg is a teacher in Alberta who has developed and maintained a blog throughout her career which offers insights on teaching through the use of different technology tools. Throughout the video Jennifer discusses many different ways of how she has incorporated technology in many of her classes including in a Kindergarden class. Her ideas for incorporating technology for instructional purposes into this young of a grade were fascinating to me. For a example, she discussed how having students in kindergarden blog helped them learn their capital letters as the keyboards on most computers is in capitals. She found that this often motivated students to learn their capitals more quickly because they couldn't wait to start using a computer! To branch further off this idea, it would also be useful to use key boards in this way so that students could learn to associate the capital letters to their regular letters. For example they would hit the capital E and see that it came out as 'e" - this would be a good visual for them to learn both types of letters. 


I really appreciated the discussion Jennifer had around video conferencing and the idea of connecting her students to a world they have never thought/heard about before. Kids are self-centered.... there... I said it. It is hard for them to fathom a world bigger than the small community they know because everything they know happens in such a small circle. The unfortunate truth is some children never grow out of this and remain this way as adults. The idea of connecting our students to other classrooms around the world is such an important one to me. This use of video conferencing is so important at this age because it teaching students to be responsible global citizens who understand not only the environment and the community they live in but also many other communities around the world. This not only ensures our students have a strong sense of the world they live them but it provides them with the experience to talk with people their age and learn more about the interests of kids their age all over the world! This is such a neat idea to me. 


I attended french immersion schools throughout my life and in elementary we video conferenced with another school in Quebec and became pen pals with them (yes we still used 'snail mail' and I loved it!). To be totally and completely honest, I do not remember much from elementary (is bad memory hereditary? ;s), yet I still remember the day we VCed with the class in Quebec and how cool we all thought it was that we were seeing these people and talking to them without being in the same province! I hope to give my students this same excitement and experience one day that they can remember years after.




Significant comments:
http://eportfoliomcnulty.weebly.com/2/post/2013/07/communication-ii.html#comments

http://jenseducationportfolio.weebly.com/3/post/2013/07/topic-4-communication-ii.html#comments


Aaron Becking
7/11/2013 08:22:12 am

Hi MacKenzie,

Thank you for your post. You provide some very good insights on web conferencing in the classroom! Ever since participating in the video conference in PSI, I am anxious to use it in a class of my own one day. I think it is very cool that you had the opportunity to participate in one and communicate with students across Canada. It is definitely something students will engage in and remember forever.

I also totally agree with you statement about students needing to interact and communicate with other students across the world. It is such an incredible opportunity that could be done without even leaving the classroom.

My question for you is how do we get parents on board and sell them on the idea on video conferencing as a benefit for their child? you said it yourself, some parents don't see the big picture outside of their little community. Would you ever think about involving the parents in the video conference as well?

Great insights and great post, MacKenzie!

-Aaron

Reply
MacKenzie
7/15/2013 08:10:03 am

Hi Aaron,

Thanks for the question. As for getting parents on board with the video conference I would probably explain to the exactly what a VC is, how it works, who it would be with, etc, I would also discuss the potential benefits VC has and the reasons I believe it would be a good experience for their children. I believe after hearing this most parents wouldn't have a problem allowing their children to take part. As far as involving parents in VC, I don't think that is something I would ever do simply because of the scheduling issues this may present (parents work different schedules, ect). However, if parents were really that interested I would invite a few to come into the class and act as volunteers to help with the VC if they desired!

Thanks for the question Aaron,

MacKenzie

Reply
Alana
7/14/2013 06:01:02 am

Hi MacKenzie!

It is super cool how blogging can be used as early as kindergarten hey? I would have never thought they would be able to use it! I now feel like I have no excuse as to why I wouldn't use blogging in my classroom. That is really cool that you used video conferences at your french immersion school! That would be a great way to get connected with other french speaking students and also a great opportunity to practice french. Thanks for your post!

Alana

Reply
Mackenzie
7/15/2013 08:11:36 am

Hi Alana,

You're absolutely right about it being a good way to practice french! What better way to practice than to speak with other students your age whose mother tongue in French!

Thanks for the comment,
MacKenzie

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a 6th year University student currently finishing up my last semester in an Education Program. On this blog I will post reflections about my learning in my Internet & Education course.

    Archives

    July 2013

    Categories

    All